ATC Premier’s Cup

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup is a listed event held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in late August or early September. Hosted by the Australian Turf Club and open to all horses aged three years and older, the ATC Premier’s Cup receives a wide array of nominations each year. Run under handicap conditions over a testing staying length of 1800m, the ATC Premier’s Cup is a fantastic race and well worth a punt. With a total purse of $125,000, the ATC Premier’s Cup certainly isn’t the most lucrative race run at Rosehill, but it’s one of the most entertaining.

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup will be held on Saturday, August 26th, 2017.

There is only one other black type race held on the same program; the Group 3 Run To The Rose (1200m), worth $125,000. In Victoria on the same day Caulfield Racecourse hosts the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m), worth an impressive $400,000 prize money.

Horses that typically compete in the ATC Premier’s Cup may have come via the listed Winter Challenge (1500m), also held at Rosehill Racecourse around a month prior. Horses that experience success in the Premier’s Cup, depending upon their other black-type experience, may either step down again in class or seek to contend more lucrative and prestigious events. Some of these later races include the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) at Royal Randwick a week later, or the Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes (2000m) the week after that.

Inaugurated in 1947, the very first edition of the ATC Premier’s Cup was won by Courier. Held over 2000m (with a few exceptions) between 1952 and 1988, the ATC Premier’s Cup retained its importance as a central staying event in many horses’ preparations for a long time. A distance downgrade to 1900m in 1989 preceded the last distance adjustment to 1800m in 2003. The Premier’s Cup has remained at 1800m since then. In its long history there have only been two years when the ATC Premier’s Cup was not held. It’s scheduled meeting was abandoned in 1996, and in 2007 it was unable to be held due to the outbreak of equine influenza. The ATC Premier’s Cup has held Listed status since it was switched from a Principal race in 1978.

ATC Premier’s Cup results play a large part in improving the form understanding of both punters and race fans. One of only a few races over a mile in distance held at Rosehill leading into the Spring Racing Carnival, the ATC Premier’s Cup results inform betting decisions for several months.

In recent years, the ATC Premier’s Cup field has attracted a number of international horses, not only from New Zealand but also from the USA, France, Great Britain and Ireland. Notable ATC Premier’s Cup winners include imported French stayer Less Is More (2013), Irish raider Glencadam Gold (2012), Kiwi stayer Mulan Princess (2001) and talented galloper Natural Habit (1988).

2017 ATC Premier’s Cup Field

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup field will be released on Wednesday August 26th, and the horses will run on Saturday August 29th.

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup field is below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 16131×9763 DESTINY’S KISS Joseph Pride Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 103
2 13144×8022 CLASSIC UNIFORM Gary Moore Tim Clark 2 56.5kg 98
3 5x227x090x SINGING (FR) Kris Lees Andrew Gibbons 5 55kg 95
4 94545×9704 CENTRE PIVOT Peter Robl Glyn Schofield(late alt) 7 54.5kg 94
5 69x228x8x0 DEE I CEE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Ms Rachel King(a) 4 53.5kg 92
6 4110×27425 LOYALTY MAN Michael Moroney Brenton Avdulla 9 53kg 91
7 131x65123x BROADSIDE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Andrew Adkins(a) 10 53kg 87
8 2352177×09 HIPPARCHUS (GB) Chris Waller Corey Brown 6 53kg 84
9 x12x118421 KING VIV (NZ) Kim Waugh Jay Ford 1 53kg 79
10 211×412412 MISS DUBOIS (NZ) Matthew Dunn Ms Kathy O’Hara 8 53kg 74

As soon as details are finalised, the 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup field will be published here.

2017 ATC Premier’s Cup Form Guide

When the final field is established, the 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup form guide will be published here.

2017 ATC Premier’s Cup Nominations

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup nominations will likely include quite a number of quality horses.

The 2017 ATC Premier’s Cup nominations are below.

As soon as they are available, the ATC Premier’s Cup nominations will be published here.

ATC Premier’s Cup results since 2000 are listed below.

ATC Premier’s Cup Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2014 Greatwood Bonfire He’s Your Man 1:54.44
2013 Less Is More Ironstein Winning Glory 1:49.11
2012 Glencadam Gold Permit Stout Hearted 1:49.88
2011 Break Card Praecido The Verminator 1:52.36
2010 Snow Alert Scouting Wide Abitofado 1:48.38
2009 Emperor Bonaparte Voice Coach Enzedex Eagle 1:51.03
2008 Red Lord Hurrah Hadaaf 1:49.37
2007 Race Not Held
2006 Activation Mr Martini Juerga 1:50.80
2005 Railings Stormhill Hasta Manana 1:49.08
2004 Bush Honey Keeping The Faith Brother Of Danny 1:49.54
2003 Domine Daniel’s The Man Go Ziggy 1:49.73
2002 Gamesman Abeel Hostess Dress Circle 1:55.95
2001 Mulan Princess Consolidator Via Sinai 1:55.39
2000 Super Revenir Prophet’s Kiss Motiti Road 1:57.67

For the latest important updates, visit our partner site

Keen for a punt? We only recommend Australia’s leading online bookie