Ironstein Heads Premier’s Cup Nominations

May 22nd, 2012

Gerald Ryan-trained gelding Ironstein heads the nominations for the Group 3 $125,000 2012 Premier’s Cup that will be held at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday.

After being written off by many in the racing world after three back-field finishes to start his 2012 campaign, the Zabeel gelding hit the line in terrific fashion to finish runner-up last start in the Group 3 Chairman’s Handicap at Doomben on May 12.

Boasting a record of eight wins from 38 starts and a prize pool of more than $700,000, the six-year-old will appreciate the step up in distance to 2200 metres.

Veteran gelding Hume was also written off by many prior to the Chairman’s Handicap, but paying $51.00 the Brian Smith-trained eight-year-old returned to his best to win the 2000-metre event by nearly a length.

Fellow last-start winner Dance With Her will make the trip to Queensland and will be chasing a third consecutive victory after winning the Warrnambool Cup and the Centaurea Stakes at Morphetville.

If the rain falls as predicted later this week, it will be advantageous for the Al Maher mare who was particularly impressive when winning the Warrnambool Cup on a heavy track.

Highly-rated four-year-old Freuhling is another horse coming into the race with plenty of form behind him, having won twice and placed second once from three starts since resuming in April.

From six career outings, the Anthony Freedman-trained horse has recorded two wins and placed on the other four occasions.

Chris Waller-trained five-year-old Wazn has also shown plenty of promise in 2012, running fourth in a quality Rowley Mile field before finishing runner-up in the Lord Mayor’s Cup at Rosehill last start.

The Irish-bred son of Whipper has scored five wins from 14 starts and has only finished outside the top three on four occasions.

Other horses nominated for the Premier’s Cup include last year’s Caloundra Cup winner Spechenka and two-time Group level winner Larry’s Never Late.

Got a winner picked for the Premier’s Cup? Head to later in the week to get access to their great value prices.

Home of the $300 bonus bet, is fully Australian owned and has all the products to suit your racing needs.

Premier’s Cup 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent
2 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 90
3 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek
4 DOMESKY Michael Kent
5 FANTASTIC BLUE Paul N Nolan 90
6 FRUEHLING (IRE) Anthony Freedman 77
7 HUME (NZ) Brian Smith 97
8 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 102
10 MARKED Robert Heathcote 77.5
11 MOURASANA (GB) Michael Moroney 79.5
12 MR LIGHT BLUE Barry Baldwin
13 PRECIOUS MANDY Maryann Thexton
14 RETUNE David Kelly 61
15 RUNDLE Kelly Purdy 91
16 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson 94
17 SHUFFLE THE CASH Bryan Guy 93
18 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 93
19 STREETS AWAY (NZ) Alan Bailey 88
20 THE VERMINATOR Chris Waller
21 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney 91
22 WARRIOR WITHIN Bruce W Hill 92
23 WAZN (IRE) Chris Waller
24 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith 88